Our Story {And an Announcement!}

I’ve been asked a couple times about my and Kip’s “timeline” of how we met, started dating, got married, had a baby, etc. I posted the semi-short version here, and we also have something to add to our major milestones!

About this time two years ago, I met a guy at a sand volleyball game. I had recently come home from a 6 week stay in Romania, and also happened to be ending a year of “no dating” that I had felt convicted to take. My roommate at the time jokingly asked me, “So, now that your year is up, are you going to run out and snatch a guy?!” We laughed and I emphatically said, “No!” I was in no hurry, though something in me sensed that big changes were coming… I just didn’t know what changes those were.

I continued to run into this guy at a couple more sand volleyball games throughout the Summer, and once he tried to impress me by almost throwing me into a swimming pool and doing handstand push-ups. It worked.

313499_255365461161217_7450918_n

I came home all giddy, but was so embarrassed at how excited I was about someone I hardly knew. This was very unlike me. Not long after that, my excitement grew (and was validated haha) because this guy ASKED ME ON A DATE! …right after he told me how he had an accident on his motorcycle that day. I think he was trying to impress me… again. Obviously it worked again because I agreed to go out with him. I only requested that we not take said motorcycle on this date. πŸ™‚

303513_458975714133523_1141709148_n

This is how we celebrated the 1 year anniversary of our first date and 6 month wedding anniversary last year. Just a few months pregnant with Rosebud…. πŸ™‚

Two years ago this weekend, I went on my last first date. It was the most special, thoughtful date I could have imagined. The Denton Square (my favorite place), Recycled bookstore, ice cream, and good, no-nonsense discussion about The Lord, ourselves, our views, our dreams. Β We agreed to keep getting to know one another as friends for another month or so, and if we did decide to date we would do so for 6 months and then evaluate where the relationship was going. “Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but the Lord determines his steps…”

Photo 936

Dating ❀

Photo 978

The night Kip proposed. πŸ™‚

Well, we fell in love. Fast. A week later we were dating, a month later “I love you’s” were exchanged (and meant), and six months from our first date we were married. It was a whirlwind, and it was and still is wonderful. I have this man and know I can count on him for all my days.

527488_392092600821835_673706103_n

We made a big decision shortly after we were married. We knew we wanted a family together, and we wanted to believe the Lord that we can trust Him and that “…like arrows in the hand of a warrior are the children of one’s youth.” Β (Proverbs 127:3-5) I wouldn’t say we wereΒ trying, but we wereΒ waiting, trusting, and resting. In May of 2012, we discovered we were pregnant with our little Rosebud.Β We were ecstatic, thankful, and eventually impatient. πŸ™‚ We couldn’t wait for our little girl to be in our arms.

0-4

From motorcycle rides around the square to nursing babies in the car at weddings…

Now we have this wonderful seven-month-old girl, full of personality and smiles for everyone. She tries to crawl, chews on anything you give her, and has the funniest, sweetest laugh. We love her to pieces and can’t imagine our world without her. We may not be able to take many vacations, buy new furniture, or purchase our first home early in our marriage. But, we’ve found tremendous wealth in her love, and we’ve seen that truly, “children are a heritage from the Lord.” Funny… when you lose your life, you seem to find it.

Well, here we are a year and a half into our marriage, and we have a new milestone to add. I’ll just leave you with this picture of our little lovebug. She wanted to be the one to tell you. πŸ™‚

Eeeeeee!! <3

Eeeeeee!! ❀

Love,
H

7 thoughts on “Our Story {And an Announcement!}

    1. Rosemary Lienhart

      Congratulations Kip and Hannah. Did you realize a little sister or brother is one of the best gifts you can give to little Rosemary? Grandma Lienhart

      Reply
  1. Erika Woods

    Hannah, God is good and children are a true blessing. Many hugs and congratulations to all three of you ❀

    Reply
  2. Rita

    Congratulations Kip and Hannah! Like Grandma Lienhart said, “your Dad and I knew the greatest gift we could give you kids is each other.” And right after I typed this I saw her comment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

