Mesothelioma Awareness Day

Tomorrow, September 26, is Mesothelioma Awareness Day,

Here in Internet-World, we are not lacking in opportunities to raise awareness, support a good cause, or read a heart-touching story. We can easily become desensitized to these messages, so much so that we (literally) require a bucket of ice water over our heads to really wake us up to the reality of a disease.

Do you know what Mesothelioma is? I definitely didn’t. When I received an email from Heather Von St. James, she immediately had my attention. She didn’t ask me to do anything silly- she was genuine and real. She asked for help educating others about thisย cancer which is caused by asbestos exposure. I didn’t know anything about Mesothelioma, but the more I read and the more I learned about Heather, I knew I had to share.

Heather was diagnosed with Mesothelioma at the age of 36- only 3.5 months after giving birth to her baby girl, and was given 15 months to live. (Now, if that doesn’t pluck a Mama’s heartstrings, I don’t know what will.) Simply playing in her Daddy’s work jacket as a child exposed her to the chemical that would eventually change her life forever. But thanks to a ground-breaking procedure which required one of Heather’s lungs to be removed, she is now an eight year survivor of this cancer, living a full life with her baby girl and husband. Glory to God!

I simply ask y’all to watch the video of her story, and from there I know you will be inspired to learn more- as well as encouraged to look at your life through your own rose colored glasses of gratitude.

Love,
H

Leave a Reply

