36.5 Weeks

photo (2)

Ohh lawdy.

Waddling? Check.
Braxton Hicks Contractions? Check.
Stopping in the middle of Target to cross my legs and pray my water doesn’t break? Check, check, check.

I’m feelin’ it.
When I was pregnant with Rosie, who stayed bundled inside my tummy for 42 weeks, I didn’t feel a single thing like this until the weekend she was born.Β This time, something about hitting 35-36 weeks signaled something to my body and I can tell it has been doing some pre-labor prep for me! Hallelujah! At my 36 week check up I was 50% effaced and 1cm-ish dilated. Which really means nothing, he could still wait until 42 weeks like Big Sissy did. I just don’t think that is going to happen. And hopefully all these “warm-up” contractions will help the real ones along.

I’ve been taking my Evening Primrose Oil and drinking Red Raspberry leaf tea almost every day. Hoping both of these also help labor along, as well as minimizing bleeding post-partum. Doing some of the stretches/yoga poses from the book, Active Birth,Β by Janet Balaskas has really helped my hip and lower back pain. They feel sooooo goooood. And Rosie climbs all over me while I do them!

Samuel’s “spot” has been all set up in a corner of our bedroom. We have the Pack & Play set up with the bassinet attachment, and all his little clothes washed, folded, and organized in the space below it. Rosie got a whole room, Sam gets a corner. Oh well. {Little boy, you are still loved and one day we will make you a fun, manly little room! What will it be? Pirates? Cowboys? We’ll see… :)}

My birth bag is almost completely packed. Samuel’s take-home outfit(s… ya know, in case of diaper explosion before we leave), diapers, wipes, and a few of my clothes are packed. The thing is, our ridiculous Texas weather has literally changed from 80 degrees on Sunday to sleet and ice on the ground Monday and Tuesday… and today it is warming up a little more. I have no idea what to pack to come home in. A coat and sweatpants, or shorts and a T-shirt? Haha. Hoping for the latter. I am also obsessively collecting Rosie’s paraphernalia (snacks, diapers, sippy’s, Desitin, etc…) and putting it all in a central location. I have written ridiculously detailed notes for my Mother-in-law for when she comes to watch Rosie while we have the baby. They are mostly to make me feel better that I have told her every detail about Rosie’s life, because my MIL is a completely capable Granny. πŸ™‚ I’m learning I might be a bit of a control freak. Also, my Mama gets here on Sunday! She will be here for my new niece, soon to arrive (eeee!!), and then for Samuel. My sister and I are so thankful!

As far as spiritual and mental prep, I am listening to my “Labor” playlist on Spotify, and the mantra “I will do this” has been playing over and over in my head. Note: “will” instead of “can”. At some point I know I will want to believe that “I can’t do this”… but I know I can always hold onto “I will do this.” Because really, the baby is coming no matter what I can or can’t do. πŸ™‚

I’m so excited to nurse a baby again, to spend those quiet hours in the earliest of the morning just he & I. I can’t comprehend how tired I am going to be, haha. But with Rosie’s first year still fresh on my mind, I know now how fast it will go by. I’m holding onto every minute!

Any last minute words of wisdom/encouragement for me? I’d love to hear it!
Waiting,
H

2 thoughts on “36.5 Weeks

  1. Tracy

    Hi Hannah, it’s Kip’s CO cousin, Tracy. πŸ™‚ Just wanted to say we are thinking of you guys and can’t wait to see pics of new baby Samuel!

    Here are my words of encouragement. πŸ™‚ My first (Henry) was born 12 days past his due date, 24 hours after my water broke, 4.5 hours of pushing. My second, Clara, came one day past her due date, 4 hours after my water broke, 9 minutes of pushing! What a difference!!!

    Wishing you a speedy and safe delivery with your second bundle of joy! Hope to see you guys this summer. You will love having two…you guys are very blessed!!

    Reply
    1. hstaton12 Post author

      Oh my gosh, Tracy! 4.5 hours of pushing!! Rosie took 2 hours and I thought that was hard. Thank you for the encouragement. πŸ™‚ We’re excited to see y’all in just a few months!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

