Pregnancy Update: 11, 12, 13 weeks?

Here it is, my first pregnancy update! πŸ™‚

It took a little while for me to be excited about being pregnant again. Don’t get me wrong- we were always excited about another person in our family, but first-trimester nausea and initial shock kept me from remembering the things I enjoyed about my first pregnancy. Once I got past Β those things and started pulling out my old maternity clothes… I finally got the warm fuzzies. πŸ™‚

We interviewed a new midwife last week, and I have to say- I am incredibly excited and thankful to have found her and the birth center we chose this time! With Rosie, we met several midwives at a birth center in our town, but we never knew who would be on call when delivery day came. Β In the end, it was a midwife we had never met! (You can read all about how that turned out here. :)) This time around, we are hiring a midwife. In her words, she will be at my birth unless she is “dead on the side of the road.” We pray that doesn’t happen! πŸ˜‰

All that to say, we got some blood work done a few weeks ago, and those results showed I would now be 11-12 weeks pregnant. Well, after talking to the midwife, we realized that by my cycle I should be about 13-14 weeks pregnant- same as my older sister!!! Kathaleen, our midwife, scheduled a sonogram for tomorrow so we could determine a more reliable due date. We are so excited to “see” our little baby for the first time! We don’t plan on being able to determine the gender quite yet, but if we can….. πŸ™‚

On another note, I am excited to share that I have been reading what is becoming a top seller on Amazon and Barnes & Noble, Trim Healthy Mama! The authors, Pearl Barrett and Serene Allison, were kind enough to send me a copy to read and review. I’m excited to implement the lessons they’ve learned throughout my pregnancy. I’m still in the middle of reading the book, but I’ve already tried some of their recipes and ideas in the kitchen. I can tell I have much more energy and a generally better attitude when I’ve eaten the way they’ve suggested. I can’t wait to finish the book and share what I learn with you all!

Anyone else pregnant? Or have two babies close together? I’d love to hear from you and keep up with you! Leave a comment or use the “Contact Me” button and send me an email!

Love,
H

11 thoughts on “Pregnancy Update: 11, 12, 13 weeks?

  1. Becky

    My first two babies were exactly fifteen months apart. They are 3 years and 23 months now and the best of friends. We have an eight week old now too, that was a 20 month space between the 2nd and 3 rd. I tandem nursed the first two as well. Some days will be hard but I loved having them close and seeing how much fun they share together is such a blessing!

    Reply
    1. hstaton12 Post author

      That is so encouraging to hear! I know it will be so fun to see our little babies grow up together. Congratulations on your new little one as well! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. thebirthmuse

    I’m always reading natural birth stories on-line because I love them. Found your blog. And I saw that you are reviewing a birth-related book. Would you be willing to read/review mine? I can send it to you. Best on your pregnancy. ENJOY!

    Reply
  3. Lori

    Congratulations!! You look beautiful. πŸ™‚ My babies were 15.5 months apart…..our son and then, surprise twins! Although a surprise at the time, it was great.

    Reply
  4. Amanda @ BedTime Quilting

    My first and second were 13 months apart and my second and third were thirteen months apart. Many times people asked if they were triplets! They are the best of friends, but it comes with its own challenges. I have five now and my oldest was five when she was born. My youngest is 7 months right now. Congrats!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

