DIY Chalkboard – Cheap!

photo-34

Sometimes I like to pretend I’m crafty. I have drawers and boxes full of fabric, paint, ribbon, glue, and all sorts of odds and ends to prove it. There have been a few times where I have actually been proud of the finished project…

This chalkboard was one of them. It turned out much better than I expected! Plus, it was very cheap to make. Bonus points!

Want to know how to make it? Let’s start with the paint.

What you’ll need:

Black Acrylic paint
-Hit up Hobby Lobby and check the clearance, or take their always-available %40 off coupon! I’ve heard Michael’s
takes competitor coupons if you don’t have a HobLob nearby.)

Dry Non-Sanded Tile Grout
-Um, what? Yeah. Go to Lowes, Home Depot, or your local hardware store and just ask for it. They’ll know what
you’re looking for and you won’t spend 30 minutes wandering the wrong aisles like I did. 🙂

That’s it! Well, for the paint.

                      vscocam21 vscocam22

Mix together 1.5 tsp dry tile grout with just more than 1/4 cup paint. It will be gritty, but all those grains will even out when you paint it on your board.

    vscocam18 vscocam19

vscocam17

I chose to use a cheap foam board from Hobby Lobby (coupon!), and a great oval-shaped empty picture frame I found at a great place my sisters and I fondly refer to as “The Dump.” It was perfectly shabby-chic’d when I bought it. You can get creative with this part! You could also use an old mirror, the glass on a picture frame you don’t use, a piece of wood, or go find yourself an empty old frame and some foam board like I did.

                                                                                      vscocam23

Depending on your medium of choice, you will need 1-3 coats of paint. Let it dry between coats, and really be sure to spread out all those little grains!

Once you are done painting, take a piece of chalk and rub it on its side over the entire board, and then erase. This preps the chalkboard for all your sweet notes and cute doodles.

                                                                         vscocam16
I attached my chalkboard to the back of my frame, hung it up, and voila! 🙂

Sidenote: this quote is inspired by James 3. Today I read about saturating your home with Scripture by putting it all over the place, and I think this was a good start. Now, with all of my leftover grout and paint, I think I’ll make a few more chalkboards and put up a few more verses. Fill your pond with sweet water, people! Abide in His word by literally putting it always before your eyes. AND, have fun creating the means to do so! 😉

Happy crafting!
Love,
H

One thought on “DIY Chalkboard – Cheap!

Leave a Reply

